Friday, March 4, 2011

you've been furloughed

so today was my furlough day, boo! in case you don't know what that is, it's an unpaid off day. so what does one do on an unpaid off day? well, turns out most of us end up spending money as I did :) I usually use my furlough days to run errands and see movies with my "work buddies."

i am very excited about this particular furlough day for a few reason:

1. got to have lunch with hubby...although it was tumbleweed and that sucked, spending time with him was fun.

2. went to a movie with my "work buddies" to see the adjustment bureau which was really good and not exactly a chick flick although one of my "work buddies" made a crude comment at the end of the movie, "my (v-word) is moist with feelings of love and understanding." needless to say we busted out laughing in the theater and so did the people in front of us, can't take that triple j anywhere! and might i add that smithy and i managed to save money by bringing in our own refreshments (wink, wink). i'm not about to pay an arm and 5 legs for a drink and some candy!

3. going to target to buy pillows and ending up with a FABULOUS GLEE POSTER (only $7.99)!


4. going to michael's and purchasing a frame (40% off of course) for my autographed glee poster from the hub's bff that works on the show.

5. coming home to see that my glee shirt (that i'm wearing to the concert on june 2nd) came in the mail. talk about a complete package of a day!

So, although I will be upset when my paycheck reflects a furlough day, all in all it was a fun day. i'm pretty sure i'm obsessed with GLEE, and now it's just "official" with all my merchandise! now it's off to help my mother-in-law make some pillows for my guest bedroom. the many perks of having fabulous in-laws :)

much love,
minzy

Thursday, March 3, 2011

so maybe i'm really bad at this!

It was brought to my attention that I am really bad at this posting thing. So, here I am...I'm posting. What's going on in my life? Well...let's see...Casey and I are in the middle of trying to build a deck aka getting quotes and stuff as well as trying to get our not-so-user-friendly yard in order in time for spring and Minzen-Derby :)

I'm sad tomorrow is my furlough day...I know it's a day off, but it's an UNPAID day off. Boo. I will however be spending money and going to the movies with Triple J and Granny Smith. You may ask why and that would be because I enjoy getting made fun of, just kidding, I have some good comebacks here and there.

Sorry for the short post, I am using what is left of the evening to move bricks from the backyard before the rain comes for the weekend. What fun you might say and indeed it shall be a joyous time! Err...riiiiight. And I hear the garage which means the hubs is home, so I'm off to get moving some bricks in place of the treadmill.

I'll try and post more...since I was told I'm not so good at this...you know who you are :)

much love,
minzy